Our reviews

On this page you will find just a few of the recent reviews we’ve received on various websites (TripAdvisor, booking.com, google, hotels.com, facebook and so on), through our own B&B booking system, or in writing from customers in the pub.

We really appreciate the feedback, both positive and negative. The positive reviews help us to focus on the important things that we know our guests love, and the negative ones always contain something that helps us improve. We prefer getting the positive ones, of course, but we value everything that our customers say about us…

Thanks to everyone for a really excellent meal. The starter of mushrooms, followed by slow roasted duck, which just fell off the bones. Then the cheese and biscuits, followed by coffee. Thanks to Daisy and Abbie for excellent service, we shall be going there again, highly recommended.

taffybee, December 2017, TripAdvisor

 

Friendly and accommodating family-run business located on the edge of a beautiful village not far from the A1. The bar serves a great selection of beers and the food has never been anything short of fantastic. The locally-sourced breakfasts are to die for… Excellent value and always reliable.

Joe, December 2017, B&B guest

Been a couple of times now. Staff are very friendly and hospitable to the max. Last time we had food from the menus. If I remember correctly it was a sausage festival that week. My family gave this a go and said how much they enjoyed it. I went for the fish and chips which were great. Plenty of local ales and brews available too. Great little place.

Dan, December 2017, google

I’m a coach driver. Took a party there for food and drinks and loved it: very warm welcome, great local beers and ciders; a really good pub. I would rate this 10 out of 10.

Steve, December 2017, facebook

Big thanks to you both for making our stay so welcoming , friendly atmosphere and great beer , but its the hosts that makes The Geese & Fountain a cracking pub !

Wayne, August 2016, facebook

Food great at breakfast and evening. Lovely selection of beers in the bar. Landlord Nick friendly and helpful. Other staff also good. Lovely, characterful pub.

Darren, December 2017, booking.com

We took our extended family here for a Sunday lunch, and the pub did us proud. Good food, good drink, good service, helpful staff, and a really great welcome. Thank you!

For me, the highlights were the roast pork and chocolate brownie to eat, with Rutland Panther to drink, but everything was delicious.

Andrew, November 2017, TripAdvisor

Beautiful place, staff were amazing, open fire in the bar, very warm and cosy, food was excellent, room was warm cosy and beds very comfortable. Will definitely go again.

Linda, November 2017, booking.com

 
This is our 3rd time to the Geese and Fountain and it gets better with each visit. The pub landlords, Nick and Kate, have put their heart and soul into rebuilding this pub up after it had been closed for three years. What I love about them is that they are passionate about sourcing locally produced produce, which is why the menu is small but what they freshly prepare is DIVINE! The artisan homemade bread with butter and dipping salt, pepper and herbs is a meal in itself and something I wish I could replicate but can’t. We love the chips cooked in duck fat and the fish and chips but last night I had the most tender Duck confit in cherry sauce from the specials board that came with the lightest, fluffiest cous cous I have every tasted. Desserts of sublimely light chocolate brownie and the homemade coffee and chocolate ice cream using locally sourced cream was out of this world. My sister said she would go back just for the ice cream. Every time we go back we see improvements and I know it will get better and better. Loveliest most caring pub landlords we have ever met. Fantastic beer, gin and wine… and boy do they know their product. We have to go try the Sunday roast next time.

renieuk, October 2017, TripAdvisor

So we went for a Sunday drive and stumbled across this little gem! High tea for 2, so much food we had to bring some cakes home! Everything was homemade and fresh as you could want. The sandwiches were wonderful, the scones were oven fresh, and the cakes were to die for!! 

The drink range was unreal, will be looking at getting a room one night so we can both enjoy the full range.  The staff were friendly and really helpful, the atmosphere in the pub was lovely. Could not have asked for a better find and we will most definitely be back! Thank you to all the staff for making us feel welcome and for a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

Larissa, March 2017, facebook

 

Had a brilliant stay staff very friendly. Had both lunch and dinner both of which were lovely. I had fish and chips and the chips were the best I have had. Spent the evening in the bar and had a good laugh where my husband enjoyed a few too many vodkas!!!! Finished our stay off with breakfast, husband said his cooked breakfast was again fantastic.

Karen, November 2017, B&B guest

Fantastic!

Ian, Septemeber 2017, B&B guest

Nipped in for the first time – surprisingly impressive. A genuine family run pub with an excellent chef and selection of home cooked food at reasonable prices. We had a meal for four a few days ago and the food was truly superb. Thanks to Nick for making us feel welcome and we’ll definitely be returning.

Mr Pickle, January 2018, google

Fresh milk, a cafetiere with proper coffee, nice tea bags… and a super breakfast. This is a proper pub with all the trimmings – music some evenings but it didn’t go on too late when I was there. Easy parking and a lovely woodland garden.

Hazel, November 2017, booking.com

Really really friendly staff. The breakfasts were delicious – really recommend. We also had an excellent dinner on one of the nights. Super pub with good selection of beers and gins.

Chris, September 2017, B&B guest

Really nice pub. Excellent old pub with traditional fireplace and flooring, etc. The most amazing range of beers from the region and locally sourced food. An extensive menu, a keen bunch of staff and friendly service – what’s not to love?

Robin, January 2017, google

Everything about this stay was simply delightful. This was our first visit to England and we absolutely loved our stay here. The owner Nick and his family and staff were so friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious and always served with a very personal touch. We were so glad we chose this place and would highly recommend it.

Deborah, November 2017, booking.com